• 1 of 8 Gymnasium
  • 2 of 8 Safety_Seal
  • 3 of 8 Safety_Seal
  • 4 of 8 Lake Apo
  • 5 of 8 MRF
  • 6 of 8 CharterDay2019
  • 7 of 8 Serbisyo2019
  • 8 of 8 Salawao Cave

Valencia City Awards Outstanding Taxpayers, Brgy. Nutrition Council and Outstanding Barangays

In line with the celebration of the city’s 15th Charter Day, the City Government of Valencia commended the top taxpayers, outstanding Barangay Nutrition Councils and outstanding barangays for the year 2015 on January 11, 2016 at CAP Auditorium, Valencia City.

Donning their Filipiniana and evening gowns, barongs and suits, the barangay officials and top taxpayers looked radiant and glamorous as they strutted the red carpet upon arrival at the venue for a special dinner and awarding ceremony.

Hosted by Barangay Kagawad Enrico Delos Reyes and SP Acting Secretary Lilebeth Canillo, the program started at 6:00pm with the preliminaries- invocation and national anthem and Kanak Ha Banwa by Charlotte Rupinta and Aron Rempohito of PIO and the entrance of colors by the Police Officers of Valencia City Police Station.

The rationale of Gabay Awards Program was presented through an audio-visual presentation by PIO and DILG Valencia City followed by opening remarks from City Vice Mayor Hon. Rolando P. Laviña.

Meanwhile, City Mayor Hon. Azucena P. Huervas, during her message, said that GABAY Awards was institutionalized when she was still the ABC President five years ago. “GABAY Awards was conceptualized since there is no standard instrument to measure the effectiveness and capability of barangays in the performance of their functions and responsibilities as well measuring the effectiveness of the barangay officials,’’ she said.

Mayor Huervas also congratulated the winning barangays and urged the officials to strive more to give quality service to the people of Valencia. She also thanked the GABAY Evaluation Team for rendering extra time and effort in assessing the barangays.

The conferment of awards then followed:

2015 City Nutrition Awards:

Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Committee : Barangay Lumbo

1st Place : Barangay San Carlos

2nd Place : Barangay Barobo

3rd Place : Barangay Mt. Nebo

4th Place : Barangay Lilingayon

Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholar : Vivian T. Ochotorena-Tongan-tongan

1st Place : Alberto O. Jacosalem-Bagontaas

2nd Place : Paciana Dombase- Concepcion

3rd Place : Richelyn Quintanes- San Carlos

4th Place : Geralyn Baliling- San Carlos

Best School Garden : Guinuyuran Elementary School

1st Place : Sinabuagan Elementary School

2nd Place : Lumbayao Elementary School

Best Community Garden : Barangay Guinuyuran

1st Place : Barangay Lourdes

2nd Place : Barangay Tugaya

Best Backyard Garden of Families : Normalie Betonio-Lourdes

1st Place : Elvira Palutao- Barangay Lumbayao

2nd Place : Kiesha Fawn Labrador- Banlag

Best BNC Office : Barangay Mailag

Maintenance Award for Best BNC Office : Barangay Catumbalon

Maintenance Award for Best School Garden : Maapag Elementary School

Maintenance Award for Best Communal Garden: Barangay Lumbayao

Plaques of Recognition were also awarded to the establishments with a breastfeeding room in their facilities:

SSS Valencia City

Roy Plaza

Valencia City The Awarding of top taxpayers then followed:


  1. Mt. Kitanglad Agri-Development Corp[oration
  2. Davao Citihardware, Inc.
  3. Unipace Corporation
  4. NVM Marketing
  6. Manupali Agri-Development Corporation
  7. Mercury Drugs Corporation
  8. Rose Pharmacy, Inc.
  9. Avon Cosmetics, Inc.
  10. Pepsi-Cola Products Philippines, Inc.
  11. Orix Metro Leasing and Finance Corporation
  12. CRm Valencia Marketing Corporation
  13. Stanfilco – DOLE Philippines
  14. CF Freight Corporation
  15. The Insular Life Assurance Co. Ltd.
  16. Norkis Distributor, Inc.
  17. Go, Leonilo C. Sr.
  18. Emcor Valencia Branch
  19. Fresh N’ Famous Foods Inc.- Chowking Valencia
  20. Houston Marketing, Inc.


  1. Manupali Agri-Development Corporation
  2. Mt. Kitanglad Agri-Development Corporation
  3. J.K. Laviña & Sons Realty Corporatio
  4. Sumifru Corporation
  5. Unipace Corporatio
  6. GSL Realty Corporation
  7. DOLE Philippines, Inc.
  8. Materpilca Corporation
  9. Philippine Union Mission Corporation
  10. Davao Citi Hardware, Inc.


  1. Carmen & Jose Yap
  2. Atty. Eliezer & Cleofe Mabao
  3. Land Bank of the Philippines
  4. Fred C. Eliseo
  5. Anson Chan Tan
  6. Hon. Helen T. Bernal
  7. Philippines Veterans Bank
  8. Amauri B. Lastimosa
  9. Luzviminda H. Ramos
  10. Vicente S. Dumadag, Jr.


Major Awards:

Outstanding Barangay Peace and Order Council

1st Place - Batangan

2nd Place - Catumbalon

3rd Place - Mabuhay

Outstanding Barangay Disaster Risk and Reduction Management Council

1st Place - Catumbalon

2nd Place - Mabuhay

3rd Place - Batangan

Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa

1st Place - Batangan

2nd Place - Catumbalon

3rd Place - Mabuhay

Outstanding Brgy. Council for the Protection of Children/Child Friendly

1st Place - Batangan

2nd Place - Lourdes

3rd Place - Catumbalon

Clean and Green Barangay

1st Place - Lourdes

2nd Place - Catumbalon

3rd Place - San Isidro

Minor Awards:

Best Barangay Government Center - Batangan

Best Barangay Public Plaza - Laligan

Best Barangay Beautification Project - Tugaya

Best Barangay Nursery - Concepcion

Best Barangay Tree Park - Concepcion

Best Barangay Gulayan and Herbal Garden - Lourdes

Best Barangay Materials Recovery Facility - Mabuhay

Individual Awards:

Best Punong Barangay : Hon. Arlene S. Macanim - Catumbalon

Best Barangay Kagawad:

1st Place : Hon. Fil Leo D. Abitona - Batangan

2nd Place : Hon. Mark Ryan H. Fuego - Lumbo

3rd Place : Hon. Juanito C. De Asis, Jr. - Catumbalon

Best Barangay Treasurer : Rubilyn M. Decrito - Dagat Ki Davao

Best Barangay Secretary : Ritcell C. Acuesta - Catumbalon

DILG Provincial Director Bruce Agusto Collao who spoke in behalf of DILG X Regional Director Nilo P. Catañares, CESE, during his congratulatory message, commended the barangay officials for a job well done and he urged the them to pat each other’s back and applaud each other for working hard in serving the constituents.

He also encouraged the barangay officials to continue serving the people for being in the government is service to the people, while reminding that public service is public trust.

“Congratulations to the City Government of Valencia. My praises to the Hon. City Mayor Huervas for initiating a very remarkable awards program,” he said. “Congratulations also to Valencia City LGOO Ms. Amalia A. Propia and the rest of the GABAY Team for taking time to evaluate the 31 barangays of Valencia.”

Meanwhile, 4th District Congressman Hon. Rogelio Neil P. Roque praised the barangay officials for serving their constituents and thanked the taxpayers for contributing to Valencia City’s progress.

The City Government of Valencia has allocated one million pesos (P1,000,000.00) for the implementation of the program.

The City Government of Valencia and the Department of Interior and Local Government conduct the annual GABAY Awards Evaluation to strengthen local government capability of the LGUs. The City Government of Valencia has been providing capability-building interventions in partnership with different national agencies aimed towards effective delivery of basic frontline services to all constituents in the city.

In line with the celebration of the city’s 15th Charter Day, the City Government of Valencia commended the top taxpayers, outstanding Barangay Nutrition Councils and outstanding barangays for the year 2015 on January 11, 2016