Historical Background

Cultural History

The territory that now comprises the City of Valencia formerly belonged to the Municipality (Row City) of Malaybalay comprising of thirteen (13) barangays.

The earliest inhabitants, who now reside in parts of the Poblacion, were Bukidnon natives led by Datu Sebastian Manangkila together with the families of the Binalhays, Laugas, Dongogans, Gua-ans, Lanayans, and the Arenzos. They founded a settlement along the banks of the Pulangui River. The site of this first settlement was a sitio named “Panlibatuhan” because the area was thickly forested by native tree species called “Malibato tree”.

During the early part of the 20th century, the first one-room barrio was opened (circa 911), with the late Mr. Leon Galorport as its first teacher. Mr.Galorport, whose hometown is Valencia, Bohol, named the school “Valencia School”. The historical site of this school is approximately the same site of the Poblacion Barangay High School.

When the southern portion of Malaybalay was separated as a new municipality, the new petitioners agreed to name it as “Valencia”. The barrio which was once Valencia is now the Poblacion which is the seat of the Municipal Government.

The rich natural resources found in the territory eventually attracted Christian settlers from the thickly populated coastal areas of Mindanao, Visayas and Luzon islands.

Immigration of Christian settlers to Valencia started during the mid 1930’s which registering a population growth rate of 10:78. Although, municipal population continued to increase, population growth started to reduce from 1975 to 1980 with a 4.86 geometric rate and further reduced to 2.07 from 1990 to 1995. The declining population rate was attributed to the lessening number of migration influx and the successful campaign of family planning program.

Political Birth

The prime mover in the creation of Valencia as a Municipality was Mr. Teodoro Pepito, who, together with the residents of barrio Valencia and the neighboring barrios, initiated a petition for the conversion of the territory into a full-pledge Municipality. The petition was forwarded to the Provincial Board of Bukidnon for consideration and the Board passed a resolution approving the creation of the Municipality of Valencia and forwarded the same to the Office of the President of the Philippines.

By virtue of the provisions of Executive Order No. 360, the Municipal of Valencia was formally born on January 16, 1961. President Carlos P. Garcia appointed Msgrs.Teodoro N. Pepito and Ernesto Garcia as the Mayor and Vice Mayor respectively. Upon the election of President Diosdado Macapagal in November 1961, another set of Municipal Officials were appointed with Hon. Lucilo Alkuino as Municipal Mayor and Hon. Solomon Gao-ay as Vice Mayor. Thus, between 1962 and 1963, two sets of Municipal Officials served the City of Valencia.

Listed below are the political leaders of the City and their corresponding terms of office:

List of Municipal/City Mayors and Term of Office

Name Period of Incumbency Remarks
Teodoro N. Pepito 1961-1962 Appointed by Pres. Garcia
Lucilo Alkuino 1962-1963 Appointed by Pres. Macapagal
Teodoro N. Pepito 1964-Sept. 1977 Elected for 3 terms plus hold-over during Martial Law Period
Absalon P. Catarata Sept. 28, 1977-Feb. 7, 1979 Succeeded as acting Mayor upon retirement of Mayor
Santiago V. Dablio Feb. 8, 1979-Feb. 28, 1980 Appointed as Acting Mayor by Pres. Marcos
Absalon P. Catarata March 1, 1980-1988 Elected in 1980 and re-elected in 1988 but was assassinated
Berthobal R. Ancheta April 22, 1988- June, 2001 By succession and elected on May 11, 1992
Jose M. Galario, Jr. July 2001-June 30, 2007 Elected City Mayor in 2001 and re-elected in 2004
Leandro Jose H. Catarata July 2007 to June, 2013 Elected City Mayor in 2007
Jose M. Galario, Jr. July 2013 to June 8, 2014 Elected City Mayor in 2013
Azucena P. Huervas June 9, 2014 to present By succession last June 9, 2014